It all starts with food

Life, Nutrition & Well-being

About 5 years ago, I started getting levels of indigestion from eating meat especially beef and pork. I stopped eating those meats, and eventually I cut out all meat except seafood – making me pescetarian.

A new development’s been happening the past year with my stomach – not major issues, but certainly and embarrassingly things like bloating, general discomfort (sometimes pain), gas, etc. that makes going about my day not as much fun!

One of my dear friends Katy mentioned going to get a IgG “allergy test” done through a naturopath. I have benefits through work, so I booked myself an appointment.

There are 96 food groups that are tested, and I found out the most interesting things about my food intolerances. Turns out I could eat anything except:

  • Anything with casein (found in milk of many sorts)
  • Cow’s milk
  • Cottage cheese
  • Whey
  • Yogurt
  • Eggs (whites aren’t as bad as the yolks)
  • Bananas
  • Almonds
  • Kidney beans
  • Lima beans

The naturopath put me on a plan to get rid of stomach inflammation and the other symptoms through a 3 week cleanse not eating these foods, along with abstaining from alcohol and using any types of processed food including sauces. I felt a whole lot better afterwards.

Unfortunately, I’ve reverted back to eating some of these foods including the cheese, eggs, etc and noticed those symptoms came back. He recommended I do another 1 week cleanse then cut out these foods for 3 months then slowly reintroduce them in small amounts to build up tolerance sans stomach irritation.

I’ll be cooking and baking up some new recipes to make it work over the next while!

One thought on “It all starts with food

  1. Also! I realized that pharmacies and doctor’s offices could do allergy tests for you – for free in the Canadian medical system so it’s a great option if you’d like to exercise it too! There’s also the try out a food and see how you react method as well.

Leave a Reply

